How to Apply to Federal Jobs: April 4 Webinar

 Erin Burns   March 7, 2019  Career Advice


American flag

The federal job application process can be daunting, as you navigate lengthy online forms and strict deadlines. Through this webinar, you’ll learn how to make your application stand out when searching for jobs at government agencies, labs, and institutions. Human Resources Specialists from the Smithsonian will lead the webinar.

Register here

Thursday, April 4th; 10am PT/11am MT/12pm CT/1pm ET

This webinar will cover veterans’ preference, the federal recruiting cycle, and helpful resources from the Office of Personnel Management (OPM). Discover the best times of year to search for, and apply to, federal jobs. You’ll also learn what differentiates the federal job application process from the private or nonprofit sectors.

Whether you’re a recent graduate of a public policy program, a newly retired veteran searching for a second career, or a job seeker considering a career shift, you’ll gain critical knowledge as you explore a rewarding, service-oriented career in the federal government.

Captioning for the deaf and hard of hearing is provided by CaptionAccess for all HERC webinars. Transcripts available upon request.

Presenter: Regina Anderson, Human Resources Specialist (Recruitment)

Regina joined the Smithsonian Institution, Office of Human Resources in December 2012 as a HR Specialist, Business Partner. She provides recruitment and placement services for a variety of museums and research centers for the Smithsonian. Regina currently specializes in outreach and diversity as well as the Schedule A Hiring Authority for Persons with Disabilities. Regina has over 20 years of experience working in Human Resources. She graduated from Virginia State University with a Bachelor of Science in Public Administration (Government) and graduated from the University of Maryland with a Master of Science in (Human Resources) Management.

Lisa Collins, Human Resources Specialist (Recruitment)

Lisa Collins graduated from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County with a Bachelor of Arts in Psychology and was a member of the National Society of Collegiate Scholars. She has over ten years of experience working in Human Resources. Lisa joined the Smithsonian Institution in August 2016 as a Human Resources Specialist (Recruitment) in the Office of Human Resources. She specializes in the recruitment and placement of Trust and Federal employees with non-competitive hiring authorities, including Veteran and Military Spouse recruitments.

Register for “How to Apply for Federal Jobs” here

   -